13.5 C
Friday, June 2, 2023

UPDF Elects New MP, Replaces Gen Sejusa

Renegade Gen David Sejusa has on Friday lost his seat to Col Innocent Oula who has been elected the new Uganda People’s Defence Forces (UPDF) Member of Parliament.

The Electoral Commission declared Col Oula the new UPDF Member of Parliament after winning with 62 votes in the elections which took place at Bombo barracks.

Other candidates nominated for the position were Maj Katto Kakuru who got 26 votes, Gen Andrew Gutti 34, Maj Gen Joram Mugume 56 and Brig Jacob Musajawaza who got 51 votes.

Col Oula is the current Chief of Personnel and Administration in UPDF. He was also the Chief of Staff AMISOM before he returned to be the 4th Division Commander.

He is a graduate of Kenya National Defence College.

Speaking at the UPDF council meeting, Col Paddy Ankunda, the army spokesperson said replacing an MP in parliament is provided for under Article 83 of the Constitution of Uganda.

He added that Section 101 of rules and procedures of parliament spell out procedures for throwing an MP out of the house.

About 274 members of the UPDF Council turned up for the voting held at Bombo Barracks.

The EC chairman Eng Badru Kiggundu was present to supervise elections which were intended to replace Gen Sejusa.

Some of the officers present were Gen Aronda Nyakairima, Gen Jeje Odongo, Gen Elly Tumwine and Gen Katumba Wamala and President Yoweri Museveni.

Speaking on the South Sudan violence, President Museveni said: “It’s not our intention to keep the UPDF in South Sudan for longer that is necessary.”

This comes after the Parliament approved the motion to allow UPDF deployment in South Sudan.

Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here