13.5 C
Friday, June 2, 2023

Suspended Rebel MP’s Storm Parliament

The four suspended rebel MPs stormed the parliamentary chambers on Monday despite a constitutional court ruling blocking them from accessing parliamentary premises and participating in parliamentary activities.

MP’s include Theodore Sekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East), Mohammed Nsereko (Kampala Central) and Barnabas Tinkasimiire (Buyaga West)

At the moment the fate of the four suspended MP’s as to whether they should stay in parliament lies in the hands of the speaker of parliament Rebecca Kadaga.

The Constitutional Court ruling last week, blocked the vocal legislators from accessing Parliament, which they did access on Monday.

The Constitutional Court ruling directs the government Attorney General to offer legal opinion to the office of the speaker on the court ruling to stay the four MPs out of parliament.

However the shadow attorney general Abdul Katuntu said it´s a legal move in futility for the Attorney General to offer a legal advice to the speaker of parliament who is expected to be independent.

Katuntu said the danger involved in the court ruling puts the speaker of parliament in a tricky situation to breach the constitution.

With this ruling, the shadow attorney General Abdul Katuntu revealed that the speaker is faced with an uphill task to cater for another set of MPs created by the court.

Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here