13.5 C
Friday, June 2, 2023

Inzikuru and Kipsiro to take part in the National Cross Country Championships

Fifty top guns have confirmed entry in the National Cross Country Championships due to take place on February 11, 2012 at the Jinja Chairmans’ Park, Jinja Town.

Uganda Athletics Federation has issued strict instructions for all runners including the elite athletes to appear in the championships or risk missing opportunity to represent the country.

Topping the list of entries World Cross Country bronze medalist and Commonwealth Games double gold medalist, Moses Kipsiro who will be defending the national title he won at the same Jinja venue and former 3000m steeplechase champion, Dorcus Inzikuru who will be gunning for selection on the national team. Inzikuru while in Jinja last year missed out on the team to Punta Umbria 2011 World Cross Country Championship in Spain.

The list of international stars also include 2010 World Cross Country bronze medal winning team comprising Annet Negesa who will be defending the national crown she won last year at the same Jinja venue, Rebecca Cheptegei, Viola Chemos, Linnet Chebet and Mercy Chebet while the men are World Mountain bronze medalist Geoffrey Kusuro, World Junior 3000m Steeplechase bronze medalist Jacob Araptany, 2009 World Cross Country bronze medalist Moses Kibet and Benjamin Kiplagat, the 3000m steeplechase National Record holder and 2011World Cross Country silver medalist Thomas Ayeko to mention a few.

Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here